You are here

  • Matara is a major city in Sri Lanka, located in the southern coast of Sri Lanka, 160 km from Colombo. It is one of the major commercial hubs in the country and it's the administrative capital of Matara District.

  • Kataragama is a pilgrimage town sacred to Buddhist, Hindu and indigenous Vedda people of Sri Lanka. People from South India also come here to worship

  • Located 101 km south east of Colombo, Ratnapura is well known for its precious stones mining. ‘Ratna’ means Gem and ‘Pura’ means City. Yes, it is the City of Gems, renowned for its world famous Ceylon Blue Sapphire and other precious stones such as Ruby, Cat’s Eye, Amethyst etc.

  • Yapahuwa was one of the ephemeral capitals of medieval Sri Lanka. The citadel of Yapahuwa lying midway between Kurunegala and Anuradhapura was built around a huge granite rock rising abruptly almost a hundred meters above the surrounding lowlands.

  • Trincomalee is the administrative headquarters of the Trincomalee District and major resort port city of Eastern Province, Sri Lanka.

  • Jaffna is the capital city of the Northern Province of Sri Lanka. It is the administrative headquarters of the Jaffna district located on a peninsula of the same name.

  • Dambulla Cave Temple (also known as the Golden Temple of Dambulla) is a world heritage site (1991) in Sri Lanka, situated in the central part of the country. This site is situated 148 km (92 mi) east of Colombo and 72 km (45 mi) north of Kandy.

  • The second most ancient of Sri Lanka's kingdoms, Polonnaruwa was first declared the capital city by King Vijayabahu I, who defeated the Chola invaders in 1070 CE to reunite the country once more under a local leader.

  • Galle is a town situated on the southwestern tip of Sri Lanka, 119 km (74 mi) from Colombo. Galle was known as Gimhathiththa (although Ibn Batuta in the 14th century refers to it as Qali) before the arrival of the Portuguese in the 16th century, when it was the main port on the island.


Subscribe to Heritage