You are here

Living with the nature - ecotourism and

wildlife safaris

Sri Lanka is an island, 65,610 km2 in area situated close to the Southeast corner of the Peninsula of India. Despite its relatively small size, Sri Lanka possesses a high level of biodiversity. A nortworthy feature of Sri Lanka's biodiversity is the remarkable high proportion of endemic species among its flora and fauna: 23% of the flowering plants and 16% of the mammals in the island are endemic. Sri Lanka has a wide range of topographic and climatic variation and this contributes to the special features of its biodiversity.

Sinharaja' Rain Forest (a UNESCO World Heritage Site)

Singharaja Forest Reserve is the most famous rainforest of the country. This tropical rain forest is a living heritage. Biodiversity of the forest is very high and a large proportion of the flora in this forest is endemic to the country and some endemic to the Singharaja Forest itself. This is a very good place to see many endemic birds such as Ceylon Lorikeet, Layard's parakeet, Jungle and Spur Fowl, Ceylon Wood Pigeon, Grey Hombill, Spotted wing Thrush, Rufus and Brown- capped Babbler, Ashy-headed Laughing Thrush, Ceylon Blue Magpie, White Headed Starling, Ceylon Hill Mynha, Legge's Flowerpecker. The clear cut roads in to the jungle provide easy access to the forest. This important forest is a Man and Biosphere Forest reserve and it is considered as a World Heritage Site.


Wild Life sanctuaries and National Parks

The largest national parks are Yala, Gal-oya, Uda Walawe, Wilpattu, Minneriya, Horton Plains and Wasgamuwa.

Bird sanctuaries

More than 465 birds types can be seen in sri lanaka. Thare are 26 endemic birds. Most of them are found in the wet zone. When the winter migrants come from distant Siberia and western Europe. The reservoirs attract vast number of water birds. The forests attract many other species. There are many bird sanctuaries across the little island. Some of them are Kumana, Bundala, Kalamatiya, Sinharaja, Udawatta Kale, Bellanwila, Muthurajawela, Minneriya, Kitulgala and Minipe.